Deleting a User account
Users can be deleted from a GitLab instance, either by:
- The user themselves.
- An administrator.
NOTE: Note: Deleting a user will delete all projects in that user namespace.
As a user
As a user, you can delete your own account by:
- Clicking on your avatar.
- Navigating to Settings > Account.
- Selecting Delete account.
As an administrator
As an administrator, you can delete a user account by:
- Navigating to Admin Area > Overview > Users.
- Selecting a user.
- Under the Account tab, clicking:
- Delete user to delete only the user but maintaining their associated records.
- Delete user and contributions to delete the user and their associated records.
When a user account is deleted, not all associated records are deleted with it. Here's a list of things that will not be deleted:
- Issues that the user created.
- Merge requests that the user created.
- Notes that the user created.
- Abuse reports that the user reported.
- Award emoji that the user created.
Instead of being deleted, these records will be moved to a system-wide user with the username "Ghost User", whose sole purpose is to act as a container for such records. Any commits made by a deleted user will still display the username of the original user.
When a user is deleted from an abuse report or spam log, these associated records are not ghosted and will be removed, along with any groups the user is a sole owner of. Administrators can also request this behavior when deleting users from the API or the Admin Area.