Unwanted DNS deletion
We found a critical issue after updating ISPConfig 3.0.5p9 to ISPConfig 3.1.2 related to the DNS zones (POWER DNS).
In our Ipsconfig setup we activated the domain restriction (System -> Main Config -> Domain) With 3.0.5 this setting had no impact on the DNS zone (it was only effective in the mails and sites sections).
Not all domains added in DNS with ispconfig 3.0.5 were added in clients -> domains, given that no verifications were made with ispconfig 3.0.5. (exemple : a client that only has DNS services with us won’t have a domain registered in client -> domain because it was not necessary to add one).
So, after the update, we end up with mismatches between the client domains and domain inside DNS section. If you edit a DNS zone (ex: change SOA) for a domain that is not inside client-> domains and you save it, your DNS zone is automatically deleted without any warning!
If the domain already existed in the client->domain section, the problem does not happen. (exemple: client in ISPConfig 3 has a DNS zone and web hosting, which requires a created domain in client -> domain).
This issue is can be avoided if you create a domain for the DNS zone for which no domain existed. After this step is done, the DNS zone will not be wiped out if you edit it.
Not funny when you delete a client zone ...